2017 Henry Viscardi Achievement Awards Announced

Americas, Misc., December 6 2017

NEW YORK, NY: The Viscardi Center — an Albertson-based non-profit organization providing a lifespan of services that educate, employ, and empower people with disabilities — announced nine recipients of the 2017 Henry Viscardi Achievement Awards at a special ceremony held on December 4 at the Mutual of America building in New York City.

2017 Award Recipients group photoFirst bestowed in 2013, the awards honor exemplary leaders in the disability community who, through the example of their professional accomplishments and advocacy efforts, are reshaping societal perceptions and making significant changes in the quality of life of people with disabilities.

Drawing nominations from cities throughout the U.S. and countries around the world, this year’s cohort are an accomplished and diverse group representing Bangladesh, India, Israel, Pakistan, South Africa, and the United States. Recipients come from a variety of distinguished backgrounds, including academia, healthcare, sports, government, technology, non-profit, and corporate sectors.

“Tonight, we recognize nine individuals from around the globe who we believe not only motivate all of us to reach higher, but who are today’s leaders, mentors, and role models for their peers and our next generations,” said John D. Kemp, President and CEO of The Viscardi Center. “These individuals have been catalysts for change and are making a positive impact on how people with disabilities view themselves and the world.”

The Henry Viscardi Achievements Awards were established to commemorate the vision of the Center’s founder, Dr. Henry Viscardi, Jr., who himself wore prosthetic legs. As a premier disability advocate, he served as an advisor to eight presidents, from Franklin D. Roosevelt to Jimmy Carter, and implemented groundbreaking employment and education programs for people with disabilities.

The 2017 Selection Committee was co-chaired for the fifth consecutive year by Robert Dole, former U.S. Senator, along with Sherwood “Woody” Goldberg, Esq., retired U.S. Army Colonel and current Senior Advisor for Asian Affairs at the Center for Naval Analysis.

The 2017 Award Recipients

Vashkar Bhattacharjee, Access to Information (a2i) Program, Bangladesh’s Prime Minister’s Office/Young Power in Social Action (YPSA)/GAATES Board of Directors, Bangladesh

Hendrietta Bogopane-Zulu, Ministry of Social Development, South Africa

Justin Constantine, The Constantine Group, New York, NY

Col. Gregory D. Gadson, U.S Army Veteran/Patriot Strategies, Alexandria, VA

Matt King, Facebook, Menlo Park, CA

Dr. Satendra Singh, University College of Medical Sciences, Delhi, India

Yuval Wagner, Access Israel, Israel

Thomas J. Wlodkowski, Comcast, Philadelphia, PA

Asim Zafar, Saaya Association/Community Based Inclusive Development Network, Pakistan

For more information, go to viscardicenter.org.


Share this post: