DESA Announces 16 Members of High-level Advisory Board

Built Environment, News, Universal Design, June 29 2018

Pedestrians in a shopping street in Mexico City

Pedestrians in a shopping street in Mexico City
Photo by Jezael Melgoza on Unsplash

INTERNATIONAL: The UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs announced the membership of the UN High-Level Advisory Board (HLAB) on Economic and Social Affairs, which was established following a request from the UN Secretary-General as part of reforms to the UN development system.

The 16 members of the HLAB include former heads of state (Ernesto Zedillo, Director of the Yale Center for the Study of Globalization and former President of Mexico, and Ricardo Lagos, former President of Chile), former ministers (Cristina Duarte, former Minister of Finance, Planning and Public Administration, Cape Verde, and Izabella Mônica Vieira Teixeira, former Minister of Environment, Brazil), an expert in public health (Anastasia J. Gage, Tulane University), and experts in economics including Jayati Ghosh, Jawaharlal Nehru University, and José Antonio Ocampo, Merit Janow, Jeffrey Sachs and Joseph Stiglitz of Columbia University. 29The members are appointed for a two-year term.

DESA notes that the HLAB’s establishment is part of efforts to enhance the UN’s support to Member States in implementing the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. The Board will aim to help DESA in its work to strengthen the UN’s “thought leadership on sustainable development” as outlined in the December 2017 report of the Secretary-General titled, ‘Repositioning the UN development system to deliver on the 2030 Agenda: Ensuring a Better Future for All’.

For the full article, visit the source: IISD SDG Knowledge Hub

Re-posted with permission

Share this post: