Thematic Group on Disaster Risk Reduction Invites Experts and Organizations to JOIN!

Disaster, ICT, News, Webinar, April 3 2018

IDA Logo

IDA Logo

INTERNATIONAL: The Stakeholder Group of Persons with Disabilities, is launching the establishment of a NEW Thematic Group on Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR). This thematic group will support the engagement of persons with disabilities, their representative organizations and other relevant stakeholders to contribute to the monitoring of the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction (included within the 2030 Agenda framework), under the umbrella of the Major Groups and Other Stakeholders mechanism.  The DRR Thematic Group will be led by one permanent and one alternate focal point.

Those interested to engage / participate in the creation of a Terms of Reference for the group, scope of work, as well as the election of focal points, please contact Georgia Dominik:

Further details about the DRR Thematic Group can be found on the IDA website here.


They are also launching a New Webinar Series covering the following 5 topics:

  • Disability Data and SDGs (10am – 11am EST, 19 April 2018)
  • Financing for Development (May 2018)
  • SDG 6 (May 2018)
  • Goal 11 and CRPD Art 19 (June 2018)
  • European Development Days/ European SDGs report and resolution (June 2018)

The first webinar on data will be on 19th of April 2018Click here to register.

Suggestions on further thematic topics or comments on webinars are welcomed through the attached survey found here.

[FINAL OPPORTUNITY]  OFFICIAL SUBMISSION on behalf of the Stakeholder Group of Persons with Disabilities – SDG 11 and Persons with Disabilities 

The HLPF Secretariat invites groups to review and contribute feedback to this draft HLPF submission. Kindly review the updated final draft and share key, concise, and relevant comments and recommendations by 8 April, 2018 and send to Please note that comments received after this date are will not be reviewed.

General information

The 2018 High-level Political Forum (HLPF) will be held from Monday, 9 July, to Wednesday, 18 July 2018 in New York.

The theme is “Transformation towards sustainable and resilient societies.” The set of Goals to be reviewed in depth will be: Goals 6, 7, 11, 12, 15 and 17.

Forty-seven countries will report on their progress achieved on implementing the SDGs. These countries include: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Australia, Bahamas, Bahrain, Benin, Bhutan, Cabo Verde, Canada, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Greece, Guinea, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Jamaica, Kiribati, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Namibia, Niger, Paraguay, Poland, Qatar, Republic of the Congo, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sri Lanka, State of Palestine, Sudan, Switzerland, Togo, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay and Vietnam.

More information can be found here.

Share this post: