2018 Winners – Civic Trust Awards, Pro-Tem Awards & AABC Conservation Awards

Africa, Americas, Built Environment, Europe, Events, December 26 2017

MANCHESTER, UK: Civic Trust Awards (CTA) is delighted to reveal the list of winning projects for the 2018 Civic Trust Awards, Pro-Tem Awards, AABC Conservation Awards and Selwyn Goldsmith Awards, which features 60 projects from a wide range of National and International entries. All schemes featured will receive either an Award or Commendation, with 3 Special Awards presented to CTA winning schemes for excellence in specific areas.

2018 Civic Trust Awards logo

2018 Civic Trust Awards logo

The 59th Annual Civic Trust Awards Ceremony will take place on Friday 9th March 2018 at Old Trafford the home of Manchester United.

Amongst the 2018 winners are:

  • Vajrasana Buddhist Retreat Centre – St Edmundsbury (Eastern) by Walters & Cohen Architects
  • Bosjes Chapel – Western Cape (South Africa) by Steyn Studio with TV3 Architects
  • Milford-on-Sea Beach Huts and Public Realm Improvements – New Forest (South East) by Snug Architects
  • Timekeepers Square – Salford (North West) by Buttress Architects
  • Central European University Phase 1 – Budapest (Hungary) by O’Donnell + Tuomey with Teampannon
  • Serpentine Pavilion 2017 designed by Francis Kéré – Westminster (Greater London) by Serpentine Galleries with Kéré Architecture
  • The Open Gallery – Dundee (Scotland) by James F Stephen Architects
  • National Army Museum – Kensington & Chelsea (Greater London) by BDP

Three Special Awards will also be given to CTA winning projects that have demonstrated outstanding credentials in specific areas. The Special Awards are:

  • National Panel Special Award – selected by National Panel members as their favourite scheme from this year’s Award winning projects
  • Special Award for Sustainability – sponsored by Derwent London and is presented to a project that demonstrates excellent sustainability credentials in terms of overall design parameters, material selection, construction methods and long term energy consumption.
  • Special Award for Community Impact and Engagement – presented to a scheme that has demonstrated how successful community engagement can help deliver the highest standards of design whilst meeting the needs of local people

The winning recipient of the Selwyn Goldsmith Award for Universal Design sponsored by Global Disability Innovation Hub in recognition of architect and founding figure of universal design, Selwyn Goldsmith, will also be revealed.

For a complete list of the 60 winning projects for 2018, please CLICK HERE

Posted by Malcolm Hankey

Re-posted with permission.

Source: Civic Trust Awards

Share this post: