ICT accessibility policy in the East African Community countries

Africa, December 18 2016

The International Telecommunications Union (ITU) Regional Office for Africa in partnership with the East Africa Community (EAC) has developed a Draft Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Accessibility Policy for the East Africa Community Countries.

The policy was adopted at a workshop held in Nairobi, Kenya from 6-7 October 2016, where 40 participants from five EAC countries also recommended the use of Universal Services and Access Funds as a source of funding.

The meeting also recommended the development of a five-year monitoring and evaluation mechanism. For more information, visit https://goo.gl/yBZCbO

Share this post: