FEMA Webinar on Overnight Shelter Experience for Persons with Disabilities

There are many reasons to undertake an exercise such as the Overnight Shelter Exercise with the Disability Community, such as, the lack of appropriate and accessible services in shelters is a violation of civil rights law, but more importantly, one in five people encountered during any disaster will have a disability or about 56.7 million people, approximately 19 percent of the population, had a disability in 2010. Many first responders lack familiarity and working knowledge they require to successfully integrate all members of the community in all aspects of the work they do. The shelter exercise was an opportunity to fully exercise all aspects of evacuation in real time with community participants and gain needed capacity and competency while also learning lessons and identifying gaps in the process. Working together and exercising capacity and resources ultimately saves lives.

Learning objectives:

  • Participants will learn how to plan an overnight exercise with the disability community
  • Participants will hear about the challenges encountered in the process and learn how to overcome them
  • Participants will come away with the tools necessary to replicate this activity in the local community

These 90 minute webinars are delivered by the Pacific ADA Center using the Blackboard Collaborate webinar platform. All sessions will be captioned, recorded and archived.

Webinars begin at ET: 2.30pm, CT: 1.30pm, MT:12.30pm, PT:11.30am, Hawaii: 8.30am., July 9, 2015

This program is delivered via both webinar platform and via telephone (additional charges may apply). Real-time captioning is available via the webinar platform.

Register here to attend this webinar.

escort girl france paris