Emergency Preparedness Webinar: Using FEMA’s Functional Needs Guidance in Shelters: June 26

The ADA National Network announces the next scheduled session in the on-going Emergency Preparedness Webinar Series produced by the Pacific ADA Center and supported by the Great Lakes ADA Center.

 Two years ago, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) provided new guidance to eliminate special needs shelters and move to general population shelters with their document “Guidance on Planning for Integration of Functional Needs Support Services in General Population Shelters.” This webinar will cover how general population shelters have incorporated FEMA’s Functional Needs Services and Support (FNSS) guidance and the Communication, Medical, Independence, Supervision, and Transportation (C-MIST) framework for planning and response.

Title: Using FEMA’s functional needs guidance in shelters
Time: 2pm ET/1pm CT/12pm MT/11am PT/8am Hawaii (Please verify the time within the time zone you reside in)
Presenters: June Issacson Kailes is a disability policy consultant on emergency preparedness and people with disabilities. Ms. Kailes currently consults with FEMA on disability issues and her 2007 paper established the C-MIST planning and response framework;

Janice Springer DNP, RN, PHN is a Disaster Health Services Advisor in Minnesota. Dr. Springer works as a consultant to the national headquarters of the American Red Cross with a special focus on clients in shelters.

Registration:  Free on-line at www.adaconferences.org/Emergency

These 90 minute webinars are delivered using the Blackboard Collaborate webinar platform and all sessions will be closed captioned.   More information on the platform and features available at:  www.adaconferences.org/Emergency.

Questions regarding registration, Webinar Platform, etc. should be directed to 877-232-1990 (V/TTY) or via email at info@adaconferences.org

escort girl france paris